As Heard on WROK – Chicken Pesto Pressed Sandwiches

Makes 4 servings
Active Prep Time: 15 minutes     Grill Time: 30 minutes

“Oh My!! This is so delicious!!  It tastes like a bistro sandwich that would cost you 12.00 in a restaurant.  It’s my own creation inspired by my love of Pesto and grilling.  You MUST try it.  It’s very simple if you choose not to grill it.  Just broil your chicken and cook your sandwich like a grilled cheese, still adding your pesto and ingredients inside.”

1 loaf sourdough bread – sliced about 1/2 inch thick – sandwich sliced
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts – sliced horizontally creating 4 thin breasts
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon dried basil
4 slices mozzarella cheese
1 7-ounce container prepared basil pesto

1)  In a small bowl, combine olive oil, salt, garlic powder, and basil.  Brush over chicken breasts.  Grill* chicken for 15 minutes over medium heat, flipping often.

2)  Spread pesto evenly on 8 slices of sour dough bread.  Place 1 slice of mozzarella on 4 slices of bread, pesto side.  Place 1 chicken breast over each slice of cheese and close sandwich with other slice of bread.

3)  Wrap sandwiches (you should have 4) individually in tin foil.  Place wrapped sandwiches on grill under something heavy*, cooking over medium heat for 5 minutes on each side.

*Grilling Alternative – Broil chicken on top rack for 5-6 minutes on each side.  Assemble sandwiches the same with pesto spread on inside of bread and chicken and cheese between the bread.  Butter outside of sandwich, and cook in a skillet, pressing down with a spatula, for about 3 minutes on each side or until golden brown.*

*Something heavy – I used an iron skillet.  You could use also use a brick or a small stepping stone.  Anything will work since your sandwich is wrapped.*

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “As Heard on WROK – Chicken Pesto Pressed Sandwiches

  1. Pingback: Simple Chicken Tacos | Alternative Tastes

    • Hi Angela,
      Thank you for your comment on my blog site. I wanted to let you know, in case you or someone you know might be interested, I am selling MenuForTheWeek.com. It has been my baby for 3 years, but I am moving on to new ventures. I am selling for a third of the revenue it generated last year. I would love to see it go to someone who loves food as much as I do. Again, if you know any other foodies, please pass it along. I can email details. It’s a great way to drive traffic to your existing site, as well as, earn income by itself. I hope you are having a great summer.

      Dawn

  2. These look fabulous! I’m looking forward to trying them.

    • Hi Heidi,
      Thank you for your comment on my blog site. I wanted to let you know, in case you or someone you know might be interested, I am selling MenuForTheWeek.com. It has been my baby for 3 years, but I am moving on to new ventures. I am selling for a third of the revenue it generated last year. I would love to see it go to someone who loves food as much as I do. Again, if you know any other foodies, please pass it along. I can email details. It’s a great way to drive traffic to your existing site, as well as, earn income by itself. I hope you are having a great summer.

      Dawn

Leave a Reply

