Classroom Treats – Rice Krispies Gift Packages

Inevitably, the need for classroom treats comes up for every holiday.  I’m not complaining.  I actually enjoy making goodies.  My enthusiasm and creativity has created little monsters with very high expectations.  My 6-year-old had very elaborate, labor intensive plans for her 1st grade treats this year.   While I do love cute and fun favors, the labor intensive part doesn’t really work for me.  I finally convinced her to go with red and green Rice Krispy treats for this year.  She was not very excited about the lack of wow factor in boring old Rice Krispy treats.  Of course, out of guilt I had to think of a way to dress these up.  It occurred to me that I could turn them into little presents using licorice stings as “ribbon.”  The colors are also double layered.  This was my husband’s idea.  We made one batch in red and pressed into a large (11″ x 17″) greased pan.  We then made the green batch and pressed it on top of the red.  The result was very cool.  The best part was that we were able to flip some of them over and it gave us 2 different colors.   I used red licorice strings and wrapped them around each square.  I double knotted the string and tucked the ends back under for the bow.   My daughter brought them today and her class loved them.  Best of all, she was so proud to pass them out.

Basic recipe (I doubled this, making one batch red and one batch green)

Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons butter or margarine
  • 1 package (10 oz., about 40) regular marshmallows
  • – OR –
  • 4 cups miniature marshmallows
  • 6 cups Rice Krispies
  • Directions:

    1. In large saucepan melt butter over low heat. Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted. Remove from heat.   Add food coloring and stir well. (Food coloring optional)

    2. Add Rice Krispies cereal. Stir until well coated.

    3. Using buttered spatula or wax paper evenly press mixture into 13 x 9 x 2-inch pan coated with cooking spray.  I used a bigger pan for my double batch.  Cool.

    1 Comment

    Filed under Cooking made easy, Food Stuff, Recipes

    One response to “Classroom Treats – Rice Krispies Gift Packages

    1. Awww who doesn’t just love rice krispy treats.. nice post.

    Leave a Reply

    