Onion Rings are OOOO So Yummy!!

I notoriously have mental blocks about cooking certain foods.  When I think of (used to think of) onion rings, I’d always picture the big Fry Daddy.  I just have visions of onion rings being a huge ordeal.  I also remember them tasting so amazing – way better than any restaurant could ever be.  That said, I’ve never (until recently) made onion rings. 

A couple of weeks ago, I was on the phone with my Maw-maw Lucy while my husband was making hamburgers.  We started talking about her onion rings.  She convinced me how very simple they really are to make.  I was so inspired that I hung up and made them right away to go with our burgers – in less than 15 minutes.  So much for the ordeal, I had created in my head.  My family gobbled them up.  They were so easy and delicious, I made them again soon after.  They were devoured again. 

So, now I am so excited to share with you exactly how to make these.  Simply cut a large onion very thinly – actually this is a preference.  They can be as thick or thin as you like.  I like mine pretty thin.  Beat 2 eggs in a bowl.  In a large gallon size zip lock bag, add flour (1 – 2 cups), salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, and paprika.  I did a couple of good shakes of each.  Make sure the flour combination is mixed well.  On medium heat, heat a half inch of oil in a large skillet.  Working in small batches, dip your onions in the eggs and toss to coat in the large plastic bag.  Place onions in a single layer in the hot grease.  You’ll know it’s hot enough when it sizzles.  Brown the onion rings for about 2 – 3 minutes (until golden) and flip for another 2 – 3 minutes.  Place on several layers of paper towels to absorb oil.  Serve warm and enjoy!

Have I inspired you to try your hand at onion rings tonight?  I hope so.  You’ll be OOOOO so glad you did.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking made easy, Food Stuff, Miscellaneous, Recipes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

