Busy Mom Spotlight on Julie Coffman

Mom’s Name: Julie Coffman

Where do you live: Arcadia, CA.

Kid’s name(s) and age(s): Cyrus, age 5

Mom’s occupation: Owner & Editor of http://www.tlc-parenting-advice.com; Work-At-Home-Mom

FIVE QUESTIONS ON FAMILY DINING WITH A BUSY MOM:

1. What do you enjoy most about eating a family meal together?

I love the ritual of connecting with my family.  Some meals it’s just me and my son, while other times we eat with my mom, sister, and nephew.  Sometimes we will have a moment of silent prayer or will bless our food and give thanks.  We also share our highs and lows of the day, always starting with our “low.”  All of this makes a family meal so much more than just a time to eat – it becomes a celebration of family and life.

2. What is your #1 go to emergency meal?

Well, I have to share two, because it depends on if I need something that’s premade, or if I’m going to cook.

If I’m in need of take-out, I love picking up a roasted chicken or turkey breast from the grocery store.  They’re cooked and ready-to-eat, so I pair one of these with a veggie and I feel good that I’m able to serve a no-fuss, healthy meal.

If I’m not too wiped out to cook, I love making shells and meat sauce.  I get a box of whole wheat pasta shells, a package of ground turkey, and low sugar pasta sauce.  My whole family loves this.  It is DE-LISH!

3. What is the best piece of advice you’d give to other busy moms who are trying to savor the dinner hour?

Make dinner time a priority and eliminate all distractions.  Bring a sense of fun and creativity to the table.  Trust me, you’ll be a superstar.

What is your family’s favorite dish?  Would you be willing to share the recipe with our blog readers? (If so, please include. if not, just describe your meal)

Tacos!  A bit time-consuming to do tacos the right way, but SO worthwhile.

Ingredients:

  • Vegetable oil
  • 2 pkgs. Corn tortillas (premade shells are NOT the same)
  • 1 lb. Lean (4% fat) ground beef
  • Lettuce, shredded
  • Tomatoes, diced
  • 1 lb. Cheddar cheese, shredded
  • Light sour cream
  • Taco Sauce

Brown ground beef, adding any seasonings you like (we stick with unseasoned.)

In small pan, add about ½ inch of vegetable oil – enough to cover a tortilla folded in half.

Heat up your oil till the oil sizzles when you add a tortilla. (No, I don’t check temp!)  Fry shells by folding tortilla in half and flipping every few seconds until tortilla is semi-hard.

Build your tacos by adding beef, lettuce, tomato, cheese, sour cream, and taco sauce. Enjoy!

5. If you could eat only one food for the rest of your life what would it be and why?

Just one?? I think I would go nuts eating only one food.  I love variety.  However, I suppose I would eat eggs.  I can fix ‘em all kinds of different ways.  Yeah, probably eggs.

Leave a comment

Filed under Busy Moms Spotlight, Recipes

Leave a Reply

